Sugar Free Blueberry Syrup

image

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I hate artificial sweetener. There are just some things that need to be real, and in my book, sugar is one of them. However, living with a diabetic has seriously cut down on my sugar intake. I try to be supportive. I really do. That’s where this surprising bit of yummy came from.

I think this recipe will work with most fruit. I’ve only tried strawberries and blueberries, and both turned out fabulously. It’s amazing on ice cream, as a glaze for a fruit tart, or on French toast. Or, ya know, by the spoonful is good too.
Ingredients –

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

1 cup water

1-4 packets Splenda

1 tsp corn starch

1/2 tsp vanilla

small amount of white sugar (optional)

Direction –

Bring the berries and water to a simmer. Add the corn starch, vanilla and as many Splenda packets as you like. Continue to simmer until the berries are soft. I just let it go on a low simmer while I prepped and started the French toast. I did add less than a teaspoon of granulated sugar to mask the artificial sweetener taste just a tad. Remove from heat and let the sauce thicken.

And that’s it. Pretty simple and very tasty. I like a little extra texture in my syrup, so when I removed it from the heat I threw in a few more fresh berries to soften up in the cooling goodness. If you don’t like texture in your syrup you can always strain the fruit out.

image

This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

