This hooker is also a tart…..maker

20130827-140552.jpg

I thought being a hooker was cool.  Boy, I had no idea how much cooler it would be to become a tarty hooker.  (The jokes!  Oh the jokes!)  I’m poor cheap.  Frugal even.  So, the other day when I cleaned out my candle cubby, I decided that I would find a useful way to use the old candles I’d been hoarding saving and……a TART was born!

If I had known making these would be so easy, I would have started making them a long time ago.  As usual, I will give you the basics to get you started.  Feel free to get creative.  If I can figure this out successfully on the first try, YOU will be able to do amazing things with this tarty goodness.

You need –

(the necessities)

sauce pan with boiling water, old candles, silicone ice cube trays or old glass candle jars, plastic spoon

(optional)

cookie sheet, foil, electric candle warmer, damp paper towel

Let’s get started –

Place your candle in the sauce pan.  Put enough water in your sauce pan to cover all or most of the wax in your candle.  (the water does NOT go in the candle, it just goes in the pan)  If you’re not using a candle that is already in a glass jar, you’ll need to find something  to put in the pot that can hold the candle and not be ruined.

Bring the water to a boil.  Continue to boil until all the wax is melted.  I use the plastic spoon to pull the wick out as soon as the wax is soft enough.  That helps to cut down on the little black floaters (or sinkers) that will be left when everything is melted.

20130827-132242.jpg

Remove the melted wax from the pot and let it cool on a trivet (or whatever) until you can handle it without hurting yourself.  When you’re able to handle the hot wax, pour it into the ice cube trays.  Let the wax cool in the tray until it no longer spills when you move it, then place it in the freezer.  It doesn’t take very long to cool the whole way in the freezer.  Less than half an hour.

20130827-134001.jpg

Before going in the freezer…..

20130827-134011.jpgOut of the freezer…..

Loosen the tarts from the ice cube tray and turn it upside down.  They should fall right out.  There ya have it.  Adorable tarts that don’t take long to make and help you save money.  Every penny counts, right?

Oh right!  The optional stuff.  The cookie sheet and the foil were to give you a more stable, flat place to fill your ice cube trays.  Well, the cookie sheet was, the foil was for easy clean up.

The electric candle warmer….I found a little trick for making the tarts look a bit more professional.  If you want to give them as a gift, you might want to try this.  The bottom of the tarts can come out a little rough, depending on how much you overfill or spill on the ice cube tray.  To fix this after they come out of the freezer, turn on your electric candle warmer and place a damp paper towel over the warming plate (ok, so this isn’t the safest, most responsible thing to do, but I’m assuming you’ll all be careful).  After you’re all warmed up, rub the bottom of the tart on the hot paper towel and smooth out any rough spots.

These would be super cute packaged up.  It’s not really re-gifting if you’ve upcycled it, right?

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This hooker is also a tart…..maker

  1. I like the idea although I have had less than no luck when trying to make candles. And oh, the mess. I’ve given up. I make soap.

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.

    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back later on.

    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

