Baby Shower Fun

Last summer, as some of you may know, we had some amazing additions to our family.  I had the stress pleasure of throwing a baby shower for my sister.  If you’ve thrown a shower or similarly stressful exciting party, you’ll understand and forgive me for not having more pictures.  I was trying not to pull my hair out to keep things going smoothly and didn’t have time to get any of the party itself.  These are the few I took during the weeks of party prep.

IMG_4733These started out as cupcake toppers, but we decided to go with mini cupcakes and they became everything toppers.  They were adorable peeking out of centerpieces and food displays. (lollipop sticks, card stock and printer paper)

IMG_4732If I had my way, no child would ever be invited to a grown up party EVER.  Ok, that’s a little harsh, so we allowed double digits.  Since it was late summer and we were all gearing up for the new school year, I made up some adorable pencil cases full of fun school supplies.

IMG_4734Of course, I had to add some crochet to the adult party favors.  These spa cloths are fabulous.  I use them all the time.  Sugar and cream cotton in a 10×10 (or 9×9, I can’t remember) square.  I LOVE THEM!

IMG_4740

My sister-in-law made these sugar scrubs.  I don’t have a link for this specific one, but there are tons of directions out there if you consult google.  She did some with lemon and some with tea tree oil.  Holy moly, this stuff is amazing.

IMG_4735

Simple packaging for the favors.  Brown paper bags, a hole punch and some yarn.  I used printed labels for SOOOOO MUCH during this party.  You can see them here.  I also printed out the name of each dish on the gigantic food table and attached them to a folded index card.  They made the gigantic food table look so cute and answered the “what’s this?” question for the guests before they could even ask. Did I mention the food table was gigantic?

IMG_4741

We played a typical baby shower game or two, but after planning the games for a few showers in the last few years, I was bored with the different variations of the same sad baby shower games.  Instead, I had the guests decorate onesies.  This had the potential to go horribly if the guests weren’t interested, or run the party super duper late if they really got into it.  I was trilled when it headed toward the running late side of things.  We gave the guests the option of using some pre-printed graphics on transfer paper (not everyone is creative) or cutting their own design from fabric pieces that had iron on adhesive ready to go.  We provided some stencils and samples (the photo above), and the guests went crazy!

IMG_4736

These amazing cupcakes were a HUGE hit!  Seriously, make these.  Make a lot of these.  I made them mini because that was kind of the food theme for the party.  My sister had gestational diabetes (lucky her!), so making things in bite size portions allowed her to get a taste of  everything without messing with her sugars too much.  But enough about her…..these cupcakes are DA BOMB!

IMG_2251IMG_4645

The point of a shower is to show the mama some love and support through expensive, unnecessary, and sometimes pretentious gifts.  Ok, most of the time the gifts are pretentious.  But really, it all comes down to the crazy amount of love you have for someone that you haven’t even met yet.  That itty bitty bundle of everything good and kind and fantastic in the world.  This amazing little guy might hate me (I’m secretly really proud of the magical ability I have to make him scream just by walking into the room), but I’ve loved him since he was just an idea in my sister’s head.

Party food ideas that we tested and approved for you!

Dill Dip In A Bread Bowl

Hibiscus-Honey Tea

Guacamole Bruschetta

Mini Caprese Bites

Raspberries With Chocolate Centers

Baked Spinach Dip Mini Bread Bowls

And lots of other things.  If it could be put on a stick, we served it that way.  FUN STUFF!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Shower Fun

  1. BJacques says:

    The whole day was by far one of my top ten favorite dates of all times (right up there with my wedding, 4 births, and the day I discovered Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are perfect in s’mores.)

    The washcloths are incredible! 9 months later and ours are still soft and holding up beautifully… and Connell can make some pretty impressive messes.

Leave a Reply

