Applesauce anyone can make

Here’s the thing – people make life waaaaay more complicated than it needs to be.  Applesauce, for instance, is smushy, cooked, sweet apples.  That’s all it is, and that’s what it should taste like.  It’s not rocket science.  It’s not brain surgery.  Heck, it’s not even cooking….really.  It’s smushy apples.  Here’s what you need to make kick-ass applesauce.

Apples, cinnamon, sugar, crock pot, and something to cut apples with.

Little old ladies are some of my favorite people.  Who needs google or pinterest when there’s a little old lady in the produce section?  I was told by a very nice little old lady that you should use sour apples to make applesauce.  She was right.  For this batch of applesauce I wanted some texture (chunky applesauce is amazing on ice cream!), so I used a mixture of Granny Smith and McIntosh apples.  I have no idea how many I used. I bought the apples a few days ago, and because they sat around for a while they turned into snacks for the hoard of children that come through my house.  Darn kids.

Peel and cut up your apples.  That Pampered Chef doodad is pretty cool, but not necessary at all.  Throw them in your slow cooker.

Sprinkle with cinnamon.  I don’t measure, because I never use the same amount of apples.  It looks like this….

Add some sugar.  Again, measuring is not my thing.  It looks like this…..

You can always throw some more in as it’s cooking, because you KNOW you’ll be tasting it before it’s done.    Mix this up, stick a lid on it and let it go!  If you do it overnight, cook it on low and wake up to your house smelling amazing.  Mine has been cooking for about 2 hours on low and it looks like this…..

I’m going to bump it up to high so it’s ready when the teenagers get home from school.  They’ve been bugging me to make this for weeks.

And finally we have smushed hot apples.  I had to help it along a little bit.  They wanted to keep their shape.  My whisk worked pretty well for apple smushing.

That’s good eatin’ right there, folks.  Doesn’t get any easier or any tastier.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

