Coffee and Crochet

It’s gross out.  It’s going to be gross out all day.  It’s just a gross, dreary, rainy day.  Gross.  So, what better than a little coffee and crochet?  Um, nothing!  Here’s the coffee….

(I LOVE this time of year for the coffee creamer alone!)

Here’s the crochet….

Let’s make a News Boy Cap!

What you need…..

A Medium Yarn (I used I Love This Yarn from Hobby Lobby in greybeard), scissors, yarn needle, stitch markers, 2 buttons, an “i” or 5.5 mm crochet hook.  You may also need thread and a needle if your yarn needle won’t fit through your button holes (mine didn’t, but I didn’t know that when I snapped this pic)

What you need to know….

Basic crochet skill are needed for this hat.  The only stitches we use are single crochet (sc), half double crochet (hdc) and slip stitch (sl).  I use the magic circle to make most hats.  If you don’t know how to do a magic circle, LEARN!   It’s amazingly simple and you don’t end up with a hole at the top of your hat.  I can’t stand that stupid hole.  Here’s a great video to get you started with a magic circle.

Here we go….

Make 10 hdc in magic circle and pull tight.

Join with a slip stitch and chain 2.  2 hdc in every stitch around.

Slip stitch in top of chain 2 and chain 2. Hdc in first stitch, *2 hdc in next stitch, 1 hdc in next* repeat from * to * around.

(yarn needle shows one hdc in first stitch and 2 hdc in next stitch)

Join with a slip stitch in top of chain 2.  Chain 2, *1 hdc in next 2 stitches, 2 hdc in third stitch*  repeat * to * around

(yarn needles shows one hdc in next 2 stitches and 2 hdc in third)

DO NOT SLIP STITCH TO JOIN!  I know, crazy, right?  That’s how I roll.  It’s a solid colored hat, let’s just skip the slip stitch.  I have found that with other yarns I sometimes need another increase row to get the circumference that I need.  A lot of the time I will skip right to 2 hdc in every 5th stitch for my final increase row.  For I Love This Yarn, that’s not necessary.

(yarn needles shows where we SHOULD have slipped stitch.  Oops.  We’re so bad!)

Continue with hdc around.  When you have some length built up on the sides of the hat, double check your circumference.  If you don’t know what to look for, there is an awesome size chart here.

A newborn hat should be between 12 and 13 inches in circumference.  This will allow for some stretch in the hat.  Continue with hdc until your hat is between 4.5 and 5 inches long.

Since we broke the rules and didn’t slip stitch to join our last increase row, we need to reduce the size of the stitches so they blend into the body of the hat before we tie off our yarn.  Find the seam in the crown of your hat.

The yarn needles shows the seam in the crown of my hat.  When you’ve worked the body to that point, sc in next stitch, slip stitch in the following stitch and cut your yarn leaving enough of a tail to weave in later and secure.

Look!  You have a beanie!  Way to go!

Now for the brim….

Fold your hat in half, with the tail (the back) on one side and the front on the other.

Count back 5 stitches from the front and place your stitch marker in the 5th stitch.  Flip the hat over and do the same on the other side, so there are 8 stitches between the stitch markers.  You will start your brim with a total of 10 stitches.

Attach your yarn in the same stitch as the stitch marker on the right.  Chain 1.  Work 2 sc into each stitch for the next 10 stitches, starting at one marker and working to the other.

Chain one, turn.  Work 1 sc into each stitch across.  When you come to the end of your brim, place one hdc in the next stitch in the body of the hat.  Sc into next 2 stitches.  Slip stitch into the next 2 stitches.  You should have worked a total of 5 stitches into the body of the hat.

Turn work.  DO NOT CHAIN ONE.  Skip both slip stitches and work one sc into each stitch across brim.  When you reach the other end, repeat work into body of the hat.  1 hdc, 2 sc, 2 slip stitches.

Cut yarn and fasten off, leaving a long enough tail to weave in later.

This is what your hat should look like at this point….

The band is super simple.  Make a chain long enough to go from one side of the brim to the other.  I needed a chain of 2o, so I chained 21 and started my sc in the second chain from the hook.

(yarn needle shows the second chain from the hook, skip the first chain)

Sc across, chain 1, turn.  Continue this until the band is the width that you need it for the buttons that you chose.  I needed a total of 4 rows for these buttons.  For smaller buttons I only used 2 or 3 rows.  Decide on the placement of your buttons and attach them to the band BEFORE attaching the band to the hat.

When attaching the band to the hat, be sure to determine your placement without stretching the band.  You don’t want the band to mess with the circumference of the hat.  The band should go from one side of the brim to the other, and be sure to attach it straight.  I use the first row of sc on the brim as a guide.

Weave in all of your end, and, OH MY GOSH, you have a news boy cap!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coffee and Crochet

  1. Any idea how you would adjust it for a preemie? I have no idea how small a preemie’s head is. My cousin asked if I could make her a brimmed hat for her preemie boy, a this pattern is perfect. Really adorable!

  2. Same kind of day here, plus I have a cold! So I might just follow your example of grossing out on coffee (or, in my case, tea) and crochet or stitch next to our warm fire … =D

  3. kaley says:

    what size of hat does this pattern make?

    • Newborn. It’s easy enough to convert into a bigger size. Just continue the increase rows until its the circumference you need it to be. If you’re not sure, follow the chart in the link above. That’s a great chart.

  4. Elaina Ervin says:

    Are you cool with items being sold based on your pattern? I recently gave one away for free to a friend for her new baby and now I have gotten requests for three more. I just wanted to check with you before I went ahead with the orders. I’m fairly new at all this, but I will mention your pattern and link your site to my new blog. Thanks!!

  5. Mrs Vee makes says:

    Just discovered this tutorial! Thanks for sharing:) Wanted to pin it. I will be making this hat for my winter walks! Thanks again:)

  6. Jay says:

    Do have pattern for larger size ?

  7. mrs vee makes says:

    Thanks for sharing your crochet talent. As I am crocheting an adult size women’s size, is it my understanding that I should continue on row 3 until it measures 11 inches in height and then start crocheting the brim? Of course I will measure as I continue. The instructions seemed vague to me but maybe I just didn’t understand it. I’m used to making a hat by crocheting by rounds.

    • Crochet in rounds if that’s what you’re comfortable with. That’s how I would do it if I were making an adult sized hat. I have not made this hat in an adult size, so you may need to play around with the brim to get it just the way you want it.

Leave a Reply

